Are you among the millions suddenly left deciding if you’re going to pay for Netflix or just jump ship? A new move by the streaming behemoth this week might help make up your mind.
Next time you get dumped because your girlfriend doesn’t “get” your collection of Star Wars collectibles, you don’t have to also lose your Netflix viewing history. Now you can transfer a Netflix profile to a new account with a few simple steps.
Sure, people move. Families grow. Relationships end. But I tend to agree with Netflix. Shouldn’t our user profile be something that is owned? Do you know how long it takes to sift through 17 seasons of NCIS to figure out where I was? Then I watch half an episode, but it looks familiar (because they all have the same formula) because I’ve already watched it.
Profile Transfer will transfer the entire profile, including personalized recommendations, viewing history, My List, saved games and other settings.
This new, much-requested feature will roll out to all members around the world starting Monday.
- You’ll be notified by email as soon as Profile Transfer becomes available on your account.
- To transfer a profile, go to the “Transfer Profile” option when you hover over your profile icon in the dropdown menu on the homepage — then simply follow the instructions.
- You can always turn off Profile Transfer in your account settings at any time.
Whether or not it makes you ready to start paying for Netflix after seven years of divine moochery is your call. But it’s a good start.